top of page

Making a Timber Tiger Treasure; Part Two

Following up on the initial tutorial from a few days ago. I finished my piece officially last night and included the final photo at the end of this blog. Here are the remaining few steps to finish my Timber Tiger Treasure:

After sketching, scanning, and shrinking I then decided what I wanted to make the image into. (I printed this and all of my images on archival-quality matte photo paper on an inkjet printer.) I decided to make this one into a pendant necklace. Silver seemed a good fit for the cooler tones of my image. I traced around the image then cut it out.

I dabbed a SMALL amount of E6000 clear all purpose glue. It smells kind of strong, and I definitely recommend using this glue in a well-ventilated area! 

After the glue was dry, I mixed some resin. I like "Susan Lenart Kazmer's Ice Resin." It's a two part epoxy-based resin that consists of a resin and a hardener. It's non-toxic, super easy to use (especially for beginners like me!), and air bubbles are drawn to the surface like magic and don't get stuck in your work. After drying for about 12 hours, the piece is ok to handle, but requires about three to five days to completely "cure" to the point where it will feel like glass. Ice Resin is a reliable way to preserve a lot of things, especially printed images, without yellowing over time.  

The finished necklace is below!

This is just a really basic pendant necklace with a silver-toned, 18" chain. Most of my necklaces are adjustable and have some sort of charm on the end (feathers for the bird images). 

And that's it! I hope you enjoyed this quick tutorial on how I make my basic Timber Tiger Treasures pendant necklace. I'll feature different tutorials on here in the future as I work on more items.

Please feel free to post any questions, comments, or take a look at some other items in my store! 

~Megan

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page