top of page

The Federal Duck Stamp

I’m really excited to announce that I’ve decided to (attempt to) enter the Federal Duck Stamp art contest. “What is the Federal Duck Stamp art contest?” You may ask. It’s a contest held every year to decide whose original, Duck-themed, artwork will be the official image for the next year’s Migratory Bird Hunting and Conservation Stamp. The purchase of this stamp is required by hunters and anyone 16 years and older to enter any National Wildlife Refuge in the US. Nearly all the money from these stamps goes to preserving thousands of acres of habitat for our native birds and animals.

To learn more, visit Duck Stamp Information

I’ll be posting more updates and images of my random sketches and some finished practice paintings as I go along. Entries are due in August and the judging takes place in September. Oh ya, and of the five eligible species, I’m looking to depict the Northern Pintail. I got some great photos of a few of these as they (conveniently) went out of their winter range this past December and made a stop at a local park here in Georgia!

~Megan

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page